VANDEVER

Maybe I’m playing hard to get.

MC

Don’t give yourself too much credit. What seems natural today could put you in an awkward position tomorrow. I’d like to take credit for things I’ve changed in my life, but I really can’t. Sometimes I’m not even aware of it. It just comes to me all of a sudden and I say to myself: You know I remember when I used to do that… and maybe it was with someone else and they recall it to your attention. Could be as simple as when you used to smoke cigarettes, or another drug of choice. Could be the fountain soda you used to always get at Casey’s on the way to work. And what changed? Was it you? It’s the dynamics that are unpredictable. All it takes is one little push and if the dominoes are lined up right they all fall into place. And we want to call it our imperfections we want to say it isn’t up to us but sometimes the choice is made for us. Some things in life just kinda happen to you. Maybe you get married you have a child you get a different job you just get older and mellow out and maybe there’s road construction and you have to take an alternate route on the way to work find another place to get your fountain soda or maybe with budgeting concerns you talk it over with your wife and decide to drink water when you go out to eat and that fountain soda everyday saves you enough money in a year’s time to buy that deep freezer you’ve always wanted… Really we’re just ripe for suggestions. And I’m suggesting to you that that girl likes you and it’s probably nothing you did that you can take credit for. It’s definitely not your looks or your IQ. That’s genetics. And you probably didn’t even take a shower today. So many things happen that we’re not aware of so that the things we do see become our measure of standard—you have to get rid of your pretensions. And really just see opportunities. A chance to do it different do it better than the way you did it before… God I wish I were twenty again.

VANDEVER

In two weeks I turn twenty-one.

MC

Good you can start into drinking. That way when you give your soul to Jesus you can play hard to get with him.

