VANDEVER

Ya… you sound like my uncle.

MC

Consider me tech support.

VANDEVER

Do you know him?

MC

I see his Facebook posts just like you.

VANDEVER

I never like anything he posts. He deleted his account. Switched it over to an author page managed by Jason Snopes with an email of billhemingway86@yahoo.com. Of course it isn’t his real name his writer name. He said he got the name from one of the return addresses on the weed he gets in the mail. That’s why I don’t like any of his posts. I have a brother going to Afghanistan. And he works for the government. But he talks about the darknet and smoking weed all the time… He posts songs but I don’t know them so I don’t listen to them. My step-father says he made some wrong choices.

MC

I know I got some of it on video here on my phone.

VANDEVER

My mother said he fell in love with the wrong woman.

MC

Maybe it’s because he fell in love with himself wrong. We’re all a product of what we come from and our experiences. But you shouldn’t just give it away. Some people give you less back. Some people give you more.

VANDEVER

Who the hell are you anyway? I don’t have a roommate. In fact I’m the RA on this floor. What are you doing in my room?

MC

Like I said I’m tech support. You’re having problems with your computer aren’t you?

VANDEVER

Ya I lost my network connection. I had to reset the wireless adaptor… How’d you know that?

MC

I helped you build it. Remember?

You see the red light and hear the beep of a Facebook notification. Vandever turns back to his computer the MC still on the top bunk behind him his feet dangling but he seems to be responding to his phone too. Then you see what Vandever is looking at his newsfeed and you see Carter’s icon a post with another picture this in black in white of Johnny Cash giving the finger. But this isn’t what the notification was for he’d recently made contact with a girl from New York and it was her you can almost see him tense with excitement… no the post he’s looking at from his uncle is from hours earlier. And maybe it’s what the MC is doing on his phone maybe it’s just an affect of the stage but you hear the words the words written in Carter’s voice.

MC

Yes it’s terrible when there’s delays in the connection. Hesitation in person is a disaster. But then don’t the minutes the hours go by between text tweet and post and maybe what you were doing has already past what you were waiting for you decided not to wait for anymore maybe it’s already tomorrow—yes we need faster speeds—don’t we?

CARTER

I found out I let the cats go while they were being the life of the party…

