CARTER:

(stepping out of the dark)

Ah but that’s harsh hard for there’s hiccups to time a lapse between stimulus and response and these aberrations aren’t isolated because it’s just not me talking now other people have been talking and they may have affected me I may have affected them but you only notice the dissonance between what you know and what you say you know what other people say they know what you really wonder about in what they don’t and really what you find through trial and error the importunity of candidness mocked as naiveté disposed to the amused laughter one shows to idiots often becomes the cancer eating at what we try to disappear from our conversations… in other words besides what’s meant for stage it’s in simple observation you must keep your eye on the cat for the simple things confound the wise…

Carter steps back in the shadows but you can see him working you hear the distinct crinkling sound of a plastic bag shaken open and you see his shadow stoop and from the motions in the negative and what can be positively seen it’s apparent he’s scooping out the kitty litter box. Then the lights come up no particular part of the stage is in focus now the audience has to decide what they want to watch.

MARY JANE:

… and so I said something but he didn’t like it so then I said nothing and he took what I said as indifference and when I said nothing he saw hostility for by then I no longer wanted to speak of it and by God I want to say we do evil unwillingly out of ignorance but I know that’s not it he saw it in me just as I saw it in him…

ELECTRA (2015):

… he had the surgery. The old school version of it much longer healing time and that’s why I wish he wouldn’t do it not talk about some things but other things personal things he shares no one had to know about the poop in the soap dish that was a private joke I played on his father but just like his father he had to share it and just like him he has hemorrhoids… his dad was forty when he had the surgery…

MARY JANE:

… but I had to tell him you have to tell someone because if you don’t it makes a hole inside and just more things you want to say fall into it but even if you tell it it doesn’t change anything it’s more just like an acknowledgement but it’s true I’m getting old and I remarked it to him though he didn’t seem to care how I’ve noticed my skin becoming like paper and maybe it’s a sad remark when not a day goes by without some pain some ailment asking for your attention asking you to bring it up to someone else’s attention…

