Then the players of Electra come on stage. Versions of herself as a young woman twenty in 1960 newly married to Carter’s father and then 55 years later a widow with only one son. They are dressed the same as though fashion never changed not what they wore as a bride but maybe the first dress they put on after becoming a wife and this could be even the anniversary of it the wedding day the ceremony of it and it must have happened in summer for it is a summer dress and now the light darkens around Carter holding his beer only the versions of Electra illuminated on the stage and they stand in profile facing one another with an antique microphone between them.

ELECTRA (1960):

My mother wasn’t aware we never spoke of it she thought I was unaware I was only three years old when my grandfather died I was playing in the living room and he was in the kitchen back then they didn’t have hospice and hospitals to go to when you die the family takes care of it my mother didn’t know but I remember I remember hearing him that death gurgle that intake of last breath…

ELECTRA (2015):

… and that is when the spirit of fear came on me until the Lord delivered me why when I first married I was still afraid to sleep inside it didn’t matter if it was 3am I’d still be wide awake and I remember we used to go to the Varsity theater in Carbondale I think it’s still there on the strip on 51 South next to an old Dairy Queen movies back then were 35 cents but there were times he would have to carry me out being inside a dark room the doors closed I’d get anxiety attacks I couldn’t breathe and he would have to carry me out…

ELECTRA (1960):

… sure she told me she was a witch—Grandma Lucy—my father’s mother and it was her husband that died his death gurgle I heard in the kitchen when I was three and my mother used to say she could do an incantation and it was supposed to remove warts but her powers could only be passed on to the opposite sex and mother said she tried to give it to a woman and she lost it…

ELECTRA (2015):

… but God delivered me he released me from that spirit of fear my son was born and I came to know the Lord as I want him to know Him and I want to understand… so I’m not afraid of appearances how you could be damned for what you do or say for really that isn’t freedom that’s like swallowing a camel while choking on a gnat…

