ELECTRA

It’s just that fear makes us… I say I am loved but in it I imply another is not I hurt I am in pain because another has caused it and someone must see I must share it with someone even if only alone with God and my immeasurable imaginings but do I imagine I am loved and not the other does it matter who I share it with for what if they love us both what if God loves us both and time is the judgment what if I know…

CARTER

It’s not what you know it’s what you can prove.

The TV goes to commercial Mary Jane in the middle disappears along with her squares and for a moment you see a sign outside that posts the hours of the DMV and you read that it’s closed on Monday a printed bulletin beside what’s embossed about it being closed on Friday for the Fourth of July a federal and state holiday for employees it floats up and then down with the wind currents you can’t hear the preachers anymore it’s gone to a cat commercial 9Lives and it’s Morris happy in his orange fur with eyes that say like some of us say: I am a God for some of us are fed while some of us feed others and besides he’s the only thing that’s real now the cat in the box Carter and Electra are just stick figures observing him as he licks his chops whiskers twitching as to an unseen wind.

ELECTRA

I know what your Dad knew. Man is inherently evil you must have faith in…

CARTER

I don’t know sometimes I feel better love if another’s hated like it somehow justifies the love like when I still wanted to be a family man again and it was seen and abused as an act of desperation a cry of loneliness because after all who would do anything to be with their children… but then who uses the children as a card and time passes the children learn for themselves and the idea of it the idea of a family lost and being alone becomes jaded with pragmatics and a conscience cleared and the sensitivity the deeper meanings are still there but you don’t hesitate in them no more…

ELECTRA

If you can be happy in giving then give but what’s taken won’t take care of you…

CARTER

It’s funny I work and meet silence with my passion and who should support me says I should pay her for her own kids… see how that sounds? It makes me laugh at women in control of their own bodies…

You can tell what time it is based on the commercials. And the channel. It’s mostly been women’s commercials. Tampons. Maxiderma age-defying skin cream for those pesky stretch marks. Hair straighteners. Even nosey Edna as the cashier so for those intimate products order from Adam and Eve online…

ELECTRA

No one likes to give up control…

CARTER

It’s not the control. That’s an illusion. It’s the giving up that’s hard to do…

