ELECTRA:

Maybe I’m not telling you anything. If there was an intention here if it was all part of a bigger story you would know and my words would mean something else. Then you have to figure out what I’m really talking about. What happened here or your idea or my idea of what happened and how it serves this intention…

MYLAR:

What if I can’t figure it out?

ELECTRA:

It isn’t hard to figure out… I’m hard now I can be hard because I’m young and I have this body and you and I both know I came here to find a husband just like why most girls go to college and that’s just how it works I don’t pay for your company you pay for mine and some girls go for deep pockets but when I saw those blue eyes in the school cafeteria when you came to clean the spilled coffee I just knew I just had a feeling…

MYLAR:

It could’ve just been indigestion…

ELECTRA:

You just grew up poor and that’s made you hard but remember when I took you down to Ferne Clyffe I told you my mom grew up in a town just north of there and you brought a cooler of Cherry RC Cola in cans along for the picnic and I told you my father used to drink that and buy it for us kids and it always reminded me of going to the forest he did the same thing he’d pack up a cooler of it and when I saw it you reminded me of it—remember that? And I took you to a waterfall where I used to play as a little girl it had just turned spring the purple wildflowers were blooming and you could smell them you could smell the flowers…

MYLAR:

Yes and I also remember it was a time for snakes… They warn you they’ll be out that time of year.

ELECTRA:

Ha! Ya and you saw that black snake and got scared… Black snakes aren’t poisonous.

MYLAR:

He had his head up looking at us after I scared him off the trail… I wasn’t going any further. You could see the waterfall from where we turned around.

ELECTRA:

All you cared about was those bagworms. What’s it with you and bagworms? They’re nasty just a bag full of slimy disgusting worms all tied up in web…

MYLAR:

And he will crush your head and you will strike his heel… I like seeing them in trees.

ELECTRA:

Remember seeing the monument? She dedicated the land because she knew it was a little slice of heaven—did you read it? She lived through two world wars saw her children grow her grandchildren and then just think of it—watching her grandchildren grow up and have children… She must have been a strong woman.

MYLAR:

Hard?

The cat is looking for a high place. She sniffs around the foot of the bed for a moment then saunters over to where the record player is coils her body springs up on top of the table turns a few a circles then sits facing them and begins to lick her paw.

ELECTRA:

It’s easy if you just watch them. And it’s kinda fun. They have no hands…

MYLAR:

But they have four legs… It’s a Sunday. What do you want to do? You and the cat have already messed up my routine. Maybe Yusef is having better luck with his computer designs.

ELECTRA:

We could make out.

Mylar puts his shoes down. He walks over to the turntable strokes the cat and selects another record. You hear the familiar yodel of Hank Williams. Electra watches him from the bed.

ELECTRA:

That better not be a one song record.

MYLAR:

No harm no foul.

The curtain closes to end Act One.

