MYLAR:

If you saw me now like you saw me then… It takes a woman to make a man out of you but don’t count on one to keep it.

He dances to the left then he dances to the right. He’s been holding the ropes to his robe twirling them. Electra watches with the cat from the bed and giggles when he turns away from the audience towards the bed opens his robe wide and flashes her. He goes back over to the vanity mirror and rubs his chin as the song ends.

MYLAR:

I stink. I need to shave and take a shower. My fingers smell like ass… You and that cat have done disrupted my whole routine.

ELECTRA:

Well I can’t smell you from here.

MYLAR:

No… I suppose you can’t. And what I see in the mirror from this angle you see at another… It’s like when you take a picture at night. All the lights blur and diffuse into each other. But what you see with your eyes is clearly delineated… Makes you wonder doesn’t it? What I see what you see what a camera sees. Never the same thing but what you see is still there. I see me in the mirror and you see me in the mirror and standing here. And is one slightly different? Do the edges blur in one and not the other? On which do you focus?

ELECTRA:

Am I talking to you or the man in the mirror?

MYLAR:

That’s the million dollar question isn’t it? Like the song we just heard we shared a world in it. I heard it. You heard it. You saw me dance. But if I asked somebody outside this room to listen to it to hear the song and share our world in it it might take some convincing. I’d have to sell them on it. Not necessarily the song I wouldn’t have to sell them on the song I would have to convince them that’s it’s worth the three minutes or so to listen to take the time out of their world to enter into mine and that’s not an easy thing to do even though we do it all the time. Every time we hear a song or open a book or look at a painting we’re entering that world we’re leaving our own to share in another we even share our world with the world that we enter always bringing another angle into it another aspect of it into focus. But that takes convincing all the time even if we’re not aware of it. How we share in each other’s worlds…

ELECTRA:

If I didn’t know you I wouldn’t listen.

MYLAR:

Ya… funny what we think we know based on what we listen to.

