They hear scratching at the door. A faint mewing sound can also be heard. Mylar goes to the door cracks it a bit and a cat darts in the same cat seen on the screen that followed him from the dumpster she prowls the perimeter of the set then jumps to the foot of the bed where she sits just out of Electra’s reach. She begins licking her paw. 

MYLAR:

Well look what the cat drug in…

ELECTRA:

Do you know her?

Electra bends to increase her reach and scoops the cat in her lap. She begins stroking her belly while the cat playfully paws at her hands.

MYLAR:

Does anyone know a cat? She’s Yusef’s.

ELECTRA:

Who?

MYLAR:

Yusef. The exchange student living downstairs I told you about him I hadn’t really talked to him before he adopted that cat he’s the guy I was talking to in the library today I think I distracted him from what he was doing don’t you hate that you have one thing in mind but you gotta do all these other things to support or even have time for that one thing in mind…

ELECTRA:

There’s a time for everything…

MYLAR:

…and you get so frustrated sometimes because you’re doing this just so you can be doing that and you begin to question your priorities like why do we bury ourselves in books inside a library…

ELECTRA:

…where you’re doing exactly what you’re supposed to be doing even when you’re waiting…

MYLAR:

…to read words written then just so we can be reading them now when spring is just around the corner and the sun is shining and if you just lived for today you’d be outside but you do it because you know you need a job…

ELECTRA:

…so you change from you to we because when there is only one there are many roles to play but as more join in you choose to be this and I choose to be that and your role complements my role so I don’t have to be you when you’re gone and you don’t have to be me…

MYLAR:

…and I don’t know it just looked like all these weird numbers to me what he was working on and funny Greek symbols I guess he saw a pattern to it but I figured since we got a house cat now I might as well talk to him and introduce myself he just moved in last semester he doesn’t speak the language too well…

Electra leans her head down close to the cat as she strokes her fur the cat has her eyes closed but you can’t hear her purring from the stage.

ELECTRA:

She’s such a pretty girl yes she is does he rub your ears and feed you when you come in here or does he just ignore you? Yes, he talks too much. Yes, I know…

MYLAR:

Sure take her side.

ELECTRA:

He just doesn’t understand, does he?

The Louis Armstrong record is still playing like a residual sound in the background waiting to be noticed again waiting for there to be no other sound other than it and as if the pause is just right like everyone just took a deep breath the trumpet breaks and Ol’ Satchmo begins singing and from it Mylar takes his cue he goes to the center of the stage his steps trying to get the timing right to the phrasing it’s the song “Mack the Knife”…

