Woman accused of shooting boyfriend’s dog in the face

Brandie Piper, KSDK 7:34 a.m. CDT September 9, 2014

Marion, Ill. – A Marion woman is accused of shooting her boyfriend’s dog in the face during a domestic dispute.

Det. James Mason with the Marion Police Department says officers were called to an apartment in the 300 block of South Bentley around 1 a.m. Sunday for a report of a dog that was shot.

When officers arrived they found the pit bull had been shot in its face and paw with a .22 caliber rifle during a domestic dispute between the suspect, identified as 32-year-old Tina L. Snopes, and her boyfriend. Mason says the dog was locked inside its crate inside the apartment and did not pose an injury risk to anyone when it was shot.

The dog was shot three times. It was taken to a veterinarian for emergency surgery and is expected to make a full recovery.

Snopes is charged with felony aggravated cruelty to animals and is held at the Williamson County Jail on a $25,000 bond.

No humans were injured during the domestic dispute.

I read somewhere once if you wanted to write a biography of someone the first rule is shoot the widow.  We really wouldn’t want to be a fly on the wall for some conversations.  Not because they’re about us but because some are disappointments to humanity while others just might surprise us and funny what we so quickly defend is as likely able to heap burning coals on our head and I often wonder how shallow how deep things are all at once apparent and I see how vanity is so flippant on everything except in regards to itself but for a long time I didn’t see I thought the problem was love’s focus the price of anything as great as hearing the voice of the mountain insurmountable loneliness then I remembered what you said to me once: Don’t tell me what you feel tell me what you know.

THEY SPENT A DAY LOOKING IN THE WATER.  But you weren’t in the water.  I knew where they would find you but for three days I didn’t tell them and

why? what were you waiting for?

I wasn’t waiting waiting on some sort of miracle it was already Over Done you see?  It just took me that long to live again to tell the story and then, well, it was just a matter of writing things down—you know—for legal purposes…

