You’re listening to Bob’s Scratchy Records. He’s so good…
Oh Oh Oh… I’m here with man O man a man by no other name and hear me HEAR ME O my children–THERE IS MUCH TO BE LEARNED FROM BEASTS… So what you got? What pray tell do you have to say what else to say to our listening audience?

Shit man… your life is your life. It ain’t mine it’s yours. Mine ain’t yours it’s mine. And you know what–I wouldn’t want it any other way… Live your life in multiple directions. Use it all. Sometimes you just have to shut up and never ask the deeper meaning to death–it’s the living that matters. To be in the moment is to be out of it. The past’s depressing. The future anxiety. So learn a good lie and live up to it because the best of truth is in a good lie what makes it stranger than fiction. Life without it is ugly, or worse–uninteresting. Truth is chaos. I’m just here to entertain ya’ll. We all need a fun way to spend our time. Don’t go gentle into that good night… Mmmm hmmm… O chil’…! Haha! Make-believe is a virtue unless you’re caught day dreamin’…

the younger listeners to KDHX might be saying–Who is this David Threnody? What was it like in the early days? We’ve been on the air for less than a year. What was it like before KDNA and St. Louis in the days of Gaslight Square?

Oh I started singin’ before the war. It was Soulard–1938–a Mardi Gras celebration–that was my first paid performance. But I didn’t start recordin’ til the summer of ’45. Down in New Orleans. Piety Street…

tell us a little bit about the war for those that haven’t heard your version of David vs. Goliath tell us you’re story of being the underdog…

Well Goliath is dead–don’t you know that? I kilt him. I kill him everday I look in the mirror. It ain’t the size that matters. We’s all our own Goliath. It’s what we use to defy God. What you think the blues is if’n it ain’t a woman? A man you in love with? I been married. I been divorced. The thing is I still love’m even when they ain’t no good for me. That’s the Blues man. That’s the sling-shot of love. And it hits you right between the eyes…

you gonna play us somethin’? Play us some of that Blues?

Oh hell no… I done gave up the guitar I wrote my songs with. Gave it to my grandson. And I burned the othern one at that crossroads in Mississippi. Damn near two decades ago. I just talk ’bout love now… and lies. Haha!

lemme just lemme just take your picture then… is that a Fender in your guitar case?

You can take my picture but you can’t have my wife… Haha! That’s the thing with a woman you know–can’t rightly know whether’n they have high expectations of you or low expectations. Either way you can’t win. Either you don’t never step up and fulfill what they think your role is as a man or they have so little faith in ya you might as well not call yourself a man. I ‘spose you can say the only woman I been faithful to in both respects is my guitar…

any regrets?

No man–I don’t have no regrets. The songs I’ve written the songs I’ve sang they came out of my life. Your life is your life. Can’t say what happened to me at nineteen what happened when I was twenty-seven to my children bein’ born the women I’ve loved and who loved me on down to this age of nearly seventy–can’t say it couldn’t have happened differently it would have just been different songs different songs to my life. Life may be whatever it may be–Man’s gotta have his choice–yes he does. The choice is the choice. The songs just happen afterwards. It’s a gift really–it’s all a gift…

and wisdom?

Shit… I’ll leave that to my grandson. He knows how to laugh now. I think we may have had it in our youth at least then we know the right words to say. As you get older you gotta pick and choose more carefully… Kinda like the garden where we’re born. Think we had all the knowledge then–it just killed us. Since then we’ve gotten dumber because we had too. Had to become less sensitive to the discernment. And our days grew shorter… I done buried my momma. That’s why I came up here. Back to St. Louis. You lucky gettin’ this interview though I don’t believe in luck. I done played out all my Friday afternoons before an Easter. And my wife my ex-wife my baby momma–she’s dyin’. Damn girl was so full of pride she never even told me she was sick. Got the cancer from havin’ children–the seed was planted years ago. The birthin’ hormones made it grow. Kinda explains that whole Maddie business–don’t it? The I love… the … don’t love… Least that’s what I got to say to sleep nights–leavin’ out the You and I… You know what you say is true if someone else can say somethin’ true from it. Even if it totally contradicts what you just said. That’s a lesson in hubris. That’s too many years of bad timin’. Too many footsteps in the dark. You find your own beat your own time signature. Then the songs come…

And here I am. The one who writes this–this story of David’s life. I didn’t hear this interview he gave to KDHX in the spring of 1987 in fact you could say I made it up. But I did hear his song. It gave my voice to all the other voices. To his youth. His time in war. To Bethany and his children. For me it was the dog days of summer 2008. That’s when I first heard David’s voice which gave me this voice. And I was at my own crossroads. In the American Bottom waiting on a train. It’s been five years now–two and a half years of listening and two and a half years of writing and now it is summer again the summer of 2013 and all I have left is to write his death–David’s death. But first his song. That first recorded song I heard on KDHX community radio. And maybe it has God in it–I don’t know–the range of it what the hearts hears when it’s broken. It all depends on where you’re standing. Whether you go right or left forward or back the way you came. It all depends on which road you take…

BLOWIN’ OUT THE CANDLES

Sun says you don’t owe me
Moon says I’m never full
Make a wish Babe
Blowin’ out the candles
Door says push but I’m gonna pull…

