32

You can run, you can run, tell my friend-boy Willie Brown
You can run, tell my friend-boy Willie Brown
Lord i’m standin’ at the crossroad, babe, i believe i’m sinkin’ down
–Robert Johnson

You’re listening to Bob’s Scratchy Records. He’s so good…
Oh Oh Oh… I’m here with man a man by no other name and hear me HEAR ME O my children–THERE IS MUCH TO BE LEARNED FROM BEASTS… So what you got? What pray tell do you have to say to our listening audience?

Your life is your life. It ain’t mine it’s yours. Mine ain’t yours it’s mine. And you know what–I wouldn’t want it any other way… Live your life in multiple directions. Use it all. A strength can be a weakness. A weakness strength. Sometimes small hands can come in handy if you need to escape. And it’s the blemishes that make us unique. You just gotta know gotta discern when to use what. Like humility and self-confidence. What is exalted can be brought down low. What’s low exalted. To stand and be counted to stand up and assert oneself can be a noble quality. It can also mean you’re a sniveling ungrateful bully. To love oneself is a good thing and absolutely necessary to love others to be any help to them at all. But then you can be so vain you think what I just said is only ’bout you. Your life is your life. So know that what is within you makes you weak just as well as it can make you strong. It is never all or nothing. And answers that beg for generalizations aren’t the missing key to every situation. Sometimes you just have to shut up and never ask the deeper meaning to death–it’s the living that matters. To be in the moment is to be out of it. The past’s depressing. The future anxiety. So learn a good lie and live up to it because the best of truth is in a good lie what makes it stranger than fiction. Life without it is ugly, or worse–uninteresting. Truth is chaos. Hold on to the good guilt and let go of the bad. That’s what I learned early on with this here guitar. I’m here to entertain ya’ll. It’s never real especially when you’re keepin’ it real. We all need fun ways to spend our time. Don’t go gentle into that good night… Mmmm hmmm… O chil’…! Haha! Make-believe is a virtue unless you’re caught day dreamin’…

the younger listeners to KDHX might be saying–Who is this David Threnody? What was it like in the early days? We’ve been on the air for less than a year here. What was it like before even KDNA and St. Louis in the days of Gaslight Square?

Oh I started singin’ before the war. It was Soulard–1938–a Mardi Gras celebration–that was my first paid performance. But I didn’t start recordin’ til the summer of ’45. Down in New Orleans. Piety Street…

tell us a little bit about the war for those that haven’t heard your version of David vs. Goliath tell us you’re story of being the underdog…

Well Goliath is dead–don’t you know that? I kilt him. I kill him everday I look in the mirror. We’s all our own Goliath. It’s what we use to defy God. What you think the blues is if’n it ain’t a woman? I been married. I been divorced. The thing is I still love her even though she ain’t no good for me. That’s the Blues man. That’s the sling-shot of love. And it hits you right between the eyes…

