I see David by the river Grandfather and he is crying too to the shadows of the overhanging Cypress silent salt tears a It is well with my Soul my heart in pain and I don’t know what he saw but he speaks Hush still waters! It’s not about you not when someone laughs when someone cries not a plot driven by action for that once it’s over is over but these trees His tree remains and I never went to her I went to Maddie instead still young and firm in all the right places but she went to her He went to her and her dolls filled with Spanish moss She saying what any preacher would say Our family’s messed up I rejected by my father lazy in my Art with a wandering eye committing adultery murder my faith selfish to admit children to this world to face an apocalypse Yes remember Popovitch maybe the gators got his body too and he watches the water what’s underneath hearing it and It speaks saying Consider I know all and I am righteous and just I know every fish just as I know what you know remains hidden and I said Let there be light before there was even a Sun a Moon and Mama comes here when it is warm to bathe naked and wash her hair but I come to fish I go with Abe and he baits my hook and every democracy eventually decays into a government of violence and the strong hand just like every family the moderate and thoughtful considered weak destroyed by the demagogue the leader of the common people knowing what happens when comfort is lost and I deny says David to the water and the foam where it pools behind the current among the rocks and he says to the shadow of the Cypress He said I know now of your affliction yet I will not even step foot in it though I’ve crossed it a thousand times I will not say The End is near for those that know it already have their plans using money to purge their sins Just as she with her dolls Just as she telling her my wife it was poison I knew it was poison but I drank it anyways So take it Take my mind Old Man but not my soul and I see a Man a white man He comes to me walking all covered with rash his long fingernails bloody with scratching He comes to me comes to us as we’re fishing and he says to me to Abe The shadow of your father is not here…

