And do you know what they’re talking about? An old voodoo woman and a fifteen year old boy? The mind still somehow makes a whole picture even if pieces to the puzzle are left out. Like word scrambles. Anagrams. What we trick computers with these days to let them know there’s a human on the other end. Some would even call it the basis of art–what’s left out. What someone perceiving the art has to bring to it to make the work a whole. Not judgment–understanding. If it was all there it would be easier to judge, but when crucial evidence is missing the mind the heart of the audience brings their own experience to bear and a magical connection takes place. A I am not you but this has also happened to me and so you are me. That’s the beauty. The meaning we find in pain in pleasure even. The I am not where you are from I was not raised like you nor do I have the same body I don’t even have the same values the same God but I’ve felt what you felt I know what you’re trying to hide for I’ve hidden it too and though we never speak of it we commiserate. And what we’re talking about here is a first kiss. Of course you already know that or I have failed. Or maybe I haven’t failed I’m just not done yet for this is a work in progress and if you’ve been reading along you know that some of this is merely foreshadowing and some of it remembering what already happened what you know will happen it’s just that I haven’t pieced Benjy’s character together yet. You know his misfortune in time in what hasn’t been told by him and this is the loud white noise lacking the walking shadow of life, and if I’ve done my job you never tire of it. You see Benjy just didn’t come to this woman living in the woods along the Sabine because she brought him into this world (maybe like all of us he thought she could bring him out)–no, it wasn’t even the guitar his father gave him as a gift–it’s what happened with a girl the first girl with whom he felt those first stirrings of lustlove in the loins the first time he had a situation something he had to walk off and that guitar the guitar his father gave him when he was seven was merely an instrument to the situation. What he felt at that age what we’ve all felt at that age the humiliation the failure–what makes a boy a man and a girl a woman. And that old voodoo woman just knew not from some paranormal power not from some heightened sense being blind what ailed Benjy what bothered this young man and so she said:

–Stop thinking with your dinker, boy! It just makes you dumb…

