So now see Maddie.  It’s the balcony of her room at sunset as she stands by the rail a cigarette poised a posturing and she can see a lot of Hemphill a strange season in the clouds a cold overcast day eight days until Easter Maddie dreaming.  She knows David is coming and it happens real when he walks up beside her standing next to her on the balcony his hands in his pockets eyes lidded the companion she wants in this daydream somehow appropriate so she waits for him to talk:  “Seems like I’m missin’ something.  Maybe that’s why I come here—shit I’m forty-eight years old and I’ve been divorced I’ve seen what it’s like to have a family only to be exiled to bachelorhood seeing women like you did in your youth but you’re not young anymore and I have a daughter coming of age but sometimes it feels like I’m nineteen again and I don’t want to die yet I still got some livin’ to do and that’s why I come here because if I died now my penis would kill me…”  And then he disappears just like that the last words and then his form dissolves and Maddie is left alone again on the balcony still posturing with her cigarette and she says to herself:  Men and their lechery. They never see we use it to our advantage even when we become an object of some fantasy yes be afraid you’re missing something…  Yes, see Maddie not what she looks like not her age or the color of her skin how her hair was and what she looked like naked but standing on the balcony to her room in a silk white robe waiting on David to come and see as she dreams not imagining lovers the male and female body making love but images scenes like frozen frames of film a tree on fire a Texas Mountain Laurel not far from the Sabine an old tree house in flames a body hanging from a branch burning and then Benjy dead a car accident across a bridge people in uniforms moving about police cars and an ambulance curious onlookers Benjy’s body down from the tree where he hung his body on the ground by an old mulberry tree his head tilted funny unnatural his eyes still open and Maddie sees him standing over him just as they are about to cover his face his last words as she stares into his eyes:  “You’re missing something alright because you can’t do away with the need for that’s in my power now—No, you need somebody to love someone to look back at you and say Yes something I cannot miss all my future days gone the same old words the same old words as always on my lips:  Enjoy the days of your youth for you will miss them…”  And then a tree at a crossroads not at day but at night naked branches silhouetted in the moonlight a nest on the ground a bird a whippoorwill singing in the darkness something on fire there as well and the shadow of a man walking away…

